RoboCop (2014)

49% – Rotten Tomatoes
6.5/10 – IMDb

It’s been quite a few years since I’ve seen the original RoboCop, so there’s not much I can compare this new installment to. What I can say is that I actually really enjoyed the 2014 re-make of RoboCop; it’s one of those cool, mindless action sci-fi movies that you watch just for the awesome action scenes.

The original film was R-rated, whereas this reboot is only PG-13. I think I would have enjoyed the movie more if it was R-rated; most action movies need that R-rating for the extra boost in violence and action. With a PG-13 rating, this movie is on the same violence scale as Transformers. These movies are probably suitable for watching with the family, as many children ages 7+ watch Transformers. Even though RoboCop only has a PG-13 rating, the action was not lacking; however my impatient brother did complain about the slow story progression at the beginning of the film. I, too, prefer action movies that start right off with action that don’t have a dreadful story buildup.

My favorite part about the movie is probably the undeniably cool robot suit that Alex Murphy (RoboCop) wears. I don’t know if it’s just me, but the suit seems slightly similar to Iron Man’s suit. And, oh my, RoboCop’s motorcycle looks amazing; it looks like Tron and Batman blended together. In my opinion, the awesome-factor of the suit and motorcycle is what really brings the movie together.

The plot is pretty simple: a Detroit cop gets shot, he is revived by becoming a “RoboCop” (part-man, part-robot), but since he is part robot he is programmed to think without emotions..and thats when things start to go wrong. There are a few familiar faces in this film: Joel Kinnaman (Alex Murphy/RoboCop), Gary Oldman (Dr. Dennett Norton), Jay Baruchel (Tom Pope), and Samuel L. Jackson (Pat Novak). With a movie like this, I don’t really pay attention much to the actors, all of my attention is on the awesome robot action.

RoboCop #2

After a stressful week of school, it’s always nice to unwind and watch a movie with mindless action. We also recently began watching Rocky in english class, which is pretty awesome since I’ve never had the chance to watch it, and I’ve heard so many great things about it. Watching movies during class is always great, especially after a rigorous week of studying and learning; watching a movie in class lets us all take a break and “just enjoy the ride”.

One thought on “RoboCop (2014)

  1. Reblogged this on deaconsden and commented:
    One of the few positive reviews on the remake of Robocop. Despite its flaws, I enjoyed this movie. I know it’s not the original classic, but sometimes I just need to have fun.

Leave a Reply

