Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

95% Rotten Tomatoes
8.3/10 IMDb

I’m usually a HUGE fan of any superhero movie, but when I watched the Captan America: The First Avenger, I wasn’t too thrilled. Now bear with me here, I didn’t dislike it because it wasn’t a great movie or anything; I disliked it because I’m not a huge fan of movies with a historical background. I tend to like movies with a more modern, present-day setting….which is why I LOVED Captain America: The First Avenger!!!

Marvel Studios has failed to let me down, I guess you could say that they redeemed themselves with The Winter Soldier, as I didn’t have much interest in The First Avenger. And did I mention that Scarlett Johansson reprises her Avenger‘s role as Black Widow in The Winter Soldier? This is another reason why Marvel Studios is so great, there’s always familiar faces and “guest appearances” from other superheroes that were featured in previous movies. Marvel’s ability to bring a bunch of superheroes to fight alongside is what I love about Marvel’s superhero worldeverything is connected.

Captain America #2

With Chris Evans as Captain America, Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury, Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow, and Anthony Mackie as Falcon, The Winter Soldier is an exciting adventure. These actors have some serious chemistry together; they make funny moments actually…funny, and intense moments actually…intense. Sometimes you watch movies where the actors try to be funny, but the humor just falls flat and you just end up groaning at how unfunny everything actually is. And that’s where The Winter Soldier doesn’t disappoint; Chris Evans and Scarlett Johansson throwing quick witty jabs at each other in this movie is what makes everything so much better. And not to mention that Samuel L. Jackson has a stern, cold demeanor…which makes his comedic lines even more hilarious.

Since it was spring break, I had decided what better way than to relax than with a superhero movie? And this movie certainly did not disappoint; its plot, action, and humor just proves that Marvel Studios always lives up to its expectations.

2 thoughts on “Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

  1. I was unsure about Evans as Steve Rogers in The First Avenger and The Avengers, but he has really come into the role. Marvel Studios has definitely left their Cinematic Universe in an interesting place after this movie and I can’t wait to see how the pick up the pieces in Avengers 2. Great review, Belle.

Leave a Reply

