Divergent (2014)

40% Rotten Tomatoes
7.6 IMDb

Here we go again, another film adaptation of a young adult dystopian novel. The novel, written by Veronica Roth, was actually on my to-read list; but now since I’ve already watched the movie, maybe I’ll pass on reading the novel. Divergent follows the main character, Beatrice (or Tris), who is a Divergent. A divergent means that they’re not normal, they don’t fit in, and that they’re being hunted down. The film revolves around Tris and Four discovering what it means to be a Divergent and what makes them so dangerous to the government.

After reading several reviews on Rotten Tomatoes, a general consensus that I saw is that Divergent bears too many similarities to The Hunger Games. While I was watching this movie I also thought that there were few similarities to The Hunger Games; for example: the idea of a conformist government, and the idea of a seemingly typical and normal teenage girl with a unique trait. Other reviews said that the film was too predictable, which is what made it boring. I too, thought it was a little bit predictable; but what can you really expect from a young adult novel? And although the film was predictable, I still enjoyed watching it. Don’t give up on this film/novel trilogy just yet; a friend told me that as the story progresses throughout the trilogy, the more intricate and exciting the plot gets.

Divergent #2

Sometimes movies teach us more than the books that we read in school. Movies help people visualize what is happening in a story; after reading the book, you can watch the movie and see everything come to life right in front of your eyes. This is why I enjoy watching a movie so much after reading a book in school; you can’t accurately portray the horrors of war through a novel like you could in a movie. That’s another reason why people get so excited when they see a movie trailer for a book that they’ve read; they’re literally seeing the book come to life.

 

2 thoughts on “Divergent (2014)

  1. Great review! I had a very similar reaction to this movie — it was by no means anything remarkable, but it was still entertaining enough for me to enjoy it. Plus, I really liked Woodley’s acting and her portrayal of Tris.
    Oh, and I decided to read the book after watching the movie, and I found that it was really quite similar. You wouldn’t be missing out on much if you didn’t read it.

    • Thank you. I always think this when I watch a movie that isn’t spectacular. There’s always something about a movie that I enjoyed, even if I didn’t enjoy the overall film.

Leave a Reply

