Bates Motel

8.2/10 IMDb

I’ve been looking for a thriller-suspense show ever since I finished watching The FallThe story of Bates Motel is a prequel to the 1960 horror movie, Psycho. Although I am not a huge fan of horror movies, I’ve been really enjoying Bates Motel.

Since Bates Motel is the prequel to Psycho, it might have been a good idea to watch Psycho before beginning Bates Motel, as that’s how I see most people became interested in this show. However, as I am not a fan of horror movies, I decided to forgo seeing Psycho and just start watching Bates Motel.

Based on the present day horror/slasher genre, I wouldn’t necessarily categorize Bates Motel in that category. There certainly is suspense and thrills, but it’s definitely not gory or extremely violent. There are some scenes of deaths and/or murders, but there isn’t anything too over the top; which is what I love about this show. As someone trying to find a TV suspenseful series about serial killers and murderers, I don’t often stumble upon a show that fits this description without an excessive amount of violence and blood.

Bates Motel #2

I don’t have too much to say about this show yet, as I’m only on the third episode, however since this is currently on Netflix, I’ll probably be done with season 1 by the end of this week. And I’ll look forward to watching season 2, as it is currently showing on TV.

What I loved about The Fall (and Bates Motel) is that we are in the perspective of the killer, which lets us see what they are thinking about, and how exactly how they are becoming crazier and more murderous by the days go on. In the beginning, they may seem like a normal, average person; but then a traumatizing event takes place that causes them to “snap” and go on a murderous rampage. Perspective is always the key in life; people see things in different views, and everyone’s interpretation of something is different.

The actors portraying Norman Bates and Norma Bates are very convincing in terms of the creepy-factor. I have yet to fully understand the nature of their relationship, but they are definitely not your average single mom and son duo. That’s another great thing about this show; it’s suspenseful not because you’re expecting someone to pop out every second and kill someone, but it’s suspenseful because of the creepy atmosphere and setting of the whole show.

 

Leave a Reply

