Pacific Rim (2013)

71% Rotten Tomatoes
7.2/10 IMDb

If Transformers and Godzilla had a baby, it would be Pacific Rim. The plot revolves around robots and aliens fighting, hence Transformers and Godzilla.

Pacific Rim #3

Everyone that I watched this movie with greatly enjoyed the action and visual effects. It was basically a movie that didn’t involve too much thinking; a movie where the main purpose is to just have a good time. But keep in mind that the people that I watched this movie with was within an age range of 14-20, which may be why everyone enjoyed it. Pacific Rim is just one of those movies where you watch for the mindlessly cool robot and alien action sequences, not a dramatic or suspenseful movie that involves a lot of thinking.

Guillermo del Toro film, known for HellboyThe Hobbit, and Pan’s Labyrinth, del Toro often uses visual effects and stunning cinematography to capture the viewer’s attention and amaze them with what CGI can do.

Although Guillermo uses CGI in most of his films, it is not at all cheesy or overly done. The CGI used in all of his films are revolutionary and beautiful.

Pacific Rim #2

I’d recommend anyone that just wants to have a good time to watch this movie. The plot isn’t overly complicated; it’s actually very imaginative and creative. And although this movie was released in theaters in 3-D/IMAX, I watched this movie at home and the effects were still stunning.

2 thoughts on “Pacific Rim (2013)

  1. Still have plans of watching this at some point, but I must point out that I love your comparison. If I had any doubts before, now I am quite confident this is on my “Watch List”. Love Godzilla!

  2. The whole time I was watching this, I couldn’t stop thinking about Power Rangers. I agree about the visuals, they are some of the best I have seen since Avatar. Good Review, Belle!

Leave a Reply

