The Way Way Back (2013)

85% Rotten Tomatoes
7.5/10 IMDb

Ever had an actor play a character that did not fit with how you view them? Steve Carell blew me away in The Way Way Back. Although known for his ingenious character on The Office, Steve Carell plays the terrible stepfather of Duncan in this coming of age comedy drama.

I watched this movie with my family, and let’s just say I’m not usually a fan of a teenage drama movie. However, this movie brought great laughs and taught many important life lessons. I would definitely recommend anyone to go out and rent this movie to watch with their family. The plot is easy to understand so your grandparents (or even parents) will not be confused by what is happening in the movie.

THE WAY, WAY BACK

The out of place boy, Duncan, is the central character in this film and deals with teenage problems such as: having a stepfather, trying to fit in, and discovering himself. The summary plot of this movie doesn’t seem like it would be funny, it seems like it would be a really dramatic movie. But let me just say that my family deeply enjoyed this movie because it wasn’t a slapstick/adult humor, but more of a family friendly/silly humor.

If you are ever trying to find a movie suitable to watch with your parents, children, or other relatives, I highly suggest that you watch this movie with them.

One thought on “The Way Way Back (2013)

  1. I loved, loved, loved this film! I agree, I was impressed with Steve Carell’s character in the film. I hope to see him take on even more roles like this. I thought Sam Rockwell’s character was hysterical, and I absolutely can’t get enough of Allison Janney. I can’t wait to watch this one again!

Leave a Reply

